This Green and Pleasant Land

Ayisha Malik

Timely, humorous and deeply moving. This is the absolute standout new novel by acclaimed author (and 2018 Asian Woman of Achievement nominee) Ayisha Malik

The standout new novel by acclaimed author Ayisha Malik – perfect for fans of The Casual Vacancy, The Unlikely Pilgrimage of Harold Fry and Middle England.

Everyone has a place they call home. But who gets to decide where you belong?

For years Bilal Hasham and his wife Mariam have lived contented, quiet lives in the sleepy rural village of Babbel's End. Now all that is about to change.

On her deathbed, Bilal's mother reaches for his hand. Instead of whispering her final prayers, she gives him a task: build a mosque in his country village.

Mariam is horrified by Bilal's plan. His friends and neighbours are unnerved. As outrage sweeps Babbel's End, battle lines are drawn. His mother's dying wish reveals deeper divisions in their village than Bilal had ever imagined.

Soon Bilal is forced to choose between community and identity, between faith and friendship, between honouring his beloved mother's last wish and preserving what is held dear in the place that he calls home.




Publication Date: 13/06/2019
ISBN Ebook: 9781785767531
ISBN Hardback: 9781785767548
ISBN Audiobook: 9781785769566

Ayisha Malik

About the author

Ayisha is a British Muslim, lifelong Londoner, and lover of books. She read English Literature and went on to complete an MA in Creative Writing (though told most of her family it was an MA in English Literature - Creative Writing is not a subject, after all.) She has spent various spells teaching, photocopying, volunteering, editing and being a publicist. Join the Ayisha Malik Readers' Club for all the latest news from Ayisha on her books, events and giveaways: www.bit.ly/AyishaMalik You can follow her on Twitter @Ayisha_Malik.