The Woman in the Photograph

Stephanie Butland

From the acclaimed author of LOST FOR WORDS comes a spellbinding novel to change the way you see the world . . .

An empowering, feminist and moving novel that will change the way you see the world. Perfect for fans of Elizabeth Day, Claire Fuller and Joanna Cannon.

1968. Veronica Moon, a junior photographer for a local newspaper, is frustrated by her (male) colleagues' failure to take her seriously. And then she meets Leonie on the picket line of the Ford factory at Dagenham. So begins a tumultuous, passionate and intoxicating friendship. Leonie is ahead of her time and fighting for women's equality with everything she has. She offers Veronica an exciting, free life at the dawn of a great change.

Fifty years later, Leonie is gone, and Veronica leads a reclusive life. Her groundbreaking career was cut short by one of the most famous photographs of the twentieth century.

Now, that controversial picture hangs as the centrepiece of a new feminist exhibition curated by Leonie's niece. Long-repressed memories of Veronica's extraordinary life begin to stir. It's time to break her silence, and step back into the light.




Publication Date: 11/07/2019
ISBN Paperback: 9781785768965
ISBN Ebook: 9781785768941
ISBN Audiobook: 9781838770396

Stephanie Butland

About the author