The Nursemaid's Secret

Sheila Newberry

A heartwarming story from the author of The Winter Baby and The Girl With No Home

A warm-hearted and nostalgic family saga from the author of The Winter Baby and The Gingerbread Girl, perfect for readers of Katie Flynn and Sheila Jeffries.

Will she finally find a family to call her own?

Tilly, a young maid, is sent away from her home in London to care for a sick child in an old cottage on the Isle of Sheppey, and she little imagines how her life will change . . .

Having settled in with her new family, Tilly dares to believe that the happiness she's longed for could be hers at last, and that she might finally be free from the secrets of her past. But tragedy strikes, and Tilly is forced to return to London, leaving the cottage under the sea wall – and her new life – behind.

As war approaches and new challenges arise, will Tilly be able to overcome her struggles and find her way home?

'Warm and cosy'
DIANE ALLEN

'Gloriously nostalgic'
MAUREEN LEE

Previously published in ebook as A Home for Tilly.




Publication Date: 10/03/2016
ISBN Ebook: 9781785761751
ISBN Paperback: 9781785764554
ISBN Audiobook: 9781785767401

Sheila Newberry

About the author

Sheila Newberry was born in Suffolk and spent a lot of time there both before and during the war. She wrote her first 'book' before she was ten - all sixty pages of it - in purple ink. Her family has certainly been her inspiration and she has been published most of her adult life. She spent forty years living in Kent with her husband John on a smallholding, and has nine children and twenty-two lively grandchildren. They retired back to Suffolk where Sheila still lives today.