The Canal Girl

Sheila Newberry

Can you ever really go home?

For fans of Katie Flynn and Sheila Jeffries, The Canal Girl is a heart-warming novel from the Queen of family saga, and author of Bicycles and Blackberries, Sheila Newberry.

Wales, 1883.

Young Ruth Owen, a talented musician with a scholarship to a prestigious music school, has a sparkling career ahead of her. But after a run-in with her mysterious tutor, Drago, she flees to London, leaving everything and everyone behind.

London, 1897.

Fourteen years later, Ruth Owen, now married with two children, finds herself struggling for money and a place to live. Left with no other option, she must return with her family to the place she once fled. But what troubles await her return? And can the past ever truly be forgotten?

'Reading a Sheila Newberry book is like having dinner with your mother in her warm and cosy kitchen. You can feel the love and care put into every juicy morsel' – Diane Allen, bestselling author of For the Sake of Her Family

'I have long been a fan of Sheila Newberry's novels. I love their wonderful warmth and charm.' Maureen Lee, bestselling author of The Seven Streets of Liverpool




Publication Date: 07/04/2016
ISBN Ebook: 9781785761676

Sheila Newberry

About the author

Sheila Newberry was born in Suffolk and spent a lot of time there both before and during the war. She wrote her first 'book' before she was ten - all sixty pages of it - in purple ink. Her family has certainly been her inspiration and she has been published most of her adult life. She spent forty years living in Kent with her husband John on a smallholding, and has nine children and twenty-two lively grandchildren. They retired back to Suffolk where Sheila still lives today.