The Blessed Child

Rosie Goodwin

The million copy, #2 Sunday Times bestseller Rosie Goodwin brings us a heartrending, dramatic and uplifting treat for Christmas 2018
'A vibrant page-turner with entrancing characters' Margaret Dickinson

'Rosie writes such heartwarming sagas' Lyn Andrews

Wednesday's child is full of woe . . .


Warwickshire, 1865

Nessie Carson will do anything to keep her family together after her mother is killed, her father abandons them and they are evicted from their cosy little Nuneaton home. She and her brothers and sisters take on jobs as live-in assistants to a local undertaker. She is soon entwined in fortunes of her employer, Andre, who is forced to live a lie, and the local doctor – someone she's attracted to but can never have. But even in the darkest of times, and saddest of places, when you're as spirited as Nessie Carson, there is light, love and the promise of happiness if you're only brave enough to search for it …

The perfect Christmas treat for fans of Dilly Court, Katie Flynn and Catherine Cookson.

Have you read Mothering Sunday, The Little Angel and A Mother's Grace – the other novels in Rosie's Days of the Week collection?" data-fwclientid="ac689ebe-6c97-4e7f-a281-491129e2faf3" data-preservehtmlbullets="0" data-allowlists="0" data-crlfsubmit="1" autocomplete="off" spellcheck="false" class="field_input_main field_input_copytext field_input_copytext_body copytextheight-normal field_input_disabled fieldkeycheck-setup copytext-setup" contenteditable="false">'A vibrant page-turner with entrancing characters' Margaret Dickinson

'Rosie writes such heartwarming sagas' Lyn Andrews

Wednesday's child is full of woe . . .


Warwickshire, 1865

Nessie Carson will do anything to keep her family together after her mother is killed, her father abandons them and they are evicted from their cosy little Nuneaton home. She and her brothers and sisters take on jobs as live-in assistants to a local undertaker. Nessie is soon entwined in the fortunes of her employer, Andre, who is forced to live a lie, and the local doctor – someone she's attracted to but can never have. But even in the darkest of times, and saddest of places, when you're as spirited as Nessie Carson, there is light, love and the promise of happiness if you're only brave enough to search for it . . .

The perfect Christmas treat for fans of Dilly Court, Katie Flynn and Catherine Cookson.

Have you read Mothering Sunday, The Little Angel and A Mother's Grace – the other novels in Rosie's Days of the Week collection?




Publication Date: 01/11/2018
ISBN Hardback: 9781785762406
ISBN Ebook: 9781785762413

Rosie Goodwin

About the author

Rosie Goodwin is the author of over twenty bestselling novels. She is the first author in the world to be allowed to follow three of Catherine Cookson's trilogies with her own sequels. Having worked in the social services sector for many years, then fostered a number of children, she is now a full-time novelist. Rosie lives in Nuneaton, the setting for many of her books, with her husband and their beloved dogs.