Mr Peacock's Possessions

Lydia Syson

Intimate, intense and beautiful. A highly acclaimed novel of possession, power and loss of innocence for fans of Mister Pip and The Poisonwood Bible

'Intelligent, beautifully written'
The Times

'Historical fiction fans, meet your new favourite author'
Stella Magazine

'Beautifully written, immaculately researched and powerfully imagined'
Lancashire Evening Post

Oceania, 1879. For two years the Peacocks, a determined family of settlers, have struggled to make a remote volcanic island their home. At last, a ship appears. The six Pacific Islanders on board have travelled over eight hundred miles in search of new horizons. Hopes are high, until a vulnerable boy vanishes.

In their search for the lost child, settlers and newcomers together uncover far more than they were looking for. The island's secrets force young Lizzie Peacock to question her deepest convictions, and slowly this tiny, fragile community begins to fracture . . .

An intimate, intense and beautifully realised novel of possession, power and the liberating loss of innocence, this will delight fans of MISTER PIP and THE POISONWOOD BIBLE.




Publication Date: 17/05/2018
ISBN Ebook: 9781471403705
ISBN Hardback: 9781785761867
ISBN Paperback: 9781471403699

Lydia Syson

About the author

Lydia Syson is a fifth-generation North Londoner who now lives south of the river with her partner and four children. After an early career as a BBC World Service Radio producer, she turned from the spoken to the written word, and developed an enduring obsession with history. Her PhD about poets, explorers and Timbuktu was followed by a biography of Britain's first fertility guru, DOCTOR OF LOVE: JAMES GRAHAM AND HIS CELESTIAL BED, and then two YA novels for Hot Key Books set in the Spanish Civil War (A WORLD BETWEEN US) and World War Two (THAT BURNING SUMMER). LIBERTY'S FIRE is the third of her novels to be inspired, very loosely, by family history: Lydia's anarchist great-great-grandmother moved in Communard circles in late 19th century London. Read more about Lydia and her books at www.lydiasyson.com or on Twitter: @lydiasyson